19 books

27Jan10

Sometimes I just can’t help myself. Often those times involve books. I put a whole bunch of books on hold, which isn’t unusual; what is unusual is that they were available right away. Normally, by virtue of scant copies and high demand, I have to wait quite a while for my holds to come in. Instead, this time around I have far more books than I can possibly read in three weeks. Thankfully, I also have the ability to renew books. So here are the nineteen books I either have out or am about to pick up from the library:
1. Bury Me Standing: the Gypsies and Their Journey by Isabel Fonseca – For research
2. Crashed by Robin Wasserman – Because the ending of Skinned is so freaking depressing, I want to see if it gets better.
3. Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier – after reading Liar I’m interested in her earlier work.
4. Ice by Sarah Beth Durst – A retelling of East of the Sun, West of the Moon, which was my favorite fairy-tale for a very long time
5. Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell – Random rec on a blog. Sounded interesting. Cover is truly awful, though.
6. The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld – I hadn’t even realized this series existed, and since I’ve enjoyed Westerfeld in the past I picked it up. I read it last night (it’s short) and wasn’t overly impressed.
7. Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale – Another random blog-endorsed book. Plus, non-western/non-white character.
8. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan – I’ve heard various things about this book and just got curious. Plus, the author’s blog is very charming.
9. Children of the Waters by Carleen Brice – Has been on a scribbled list for a few months. I can’t even remember what it’s about.
10. Monster by Walter Dean Myers – It’s been on my radar for a very long time, and I finally got around to putting a hold on it. There was a waiting list, so I didn’t think it would show up with this crop. Oh well.
11. Columbine by David Cullen – I’ve heard a lot about this, and I was young enough when the massacre occurred that I don’t actually know that much about it or the reactions to it. This is what I’m reading at the moment. So far, it’s intense.
12. We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will be Killed With Our Families: Stories from Rwanda by Philip Gourevitch – In case Columbine doesn’t leave me depressed enough.
13. Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon – Another non-Western fantasy. Yay!
14. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson – Saw this endorsed one too many times to pass it by.
15. Give Up the Ghost by Megan Crewe – I have a soft spot for ghosts and bitter teens.
16. Fire by Kristin Cashore – I adored Graceling and would have bought this book if I had the funds. But I don’t. Hasn’t actually come in yet, since the waitlist is INTENSE.
17. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters – I’ve wanted to read this in a passive “I’ll pick it up someday” way for years.
18. Devil’s Kiss by Chadda Sarwat – I know little about this book except that it embraces the dark and scary side of urban fantasy, which intrigues me. Could be crap. Could be awesome. I’ll let you know.
19. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Another random blog rec.

I picked up most of these yesterday, and I finished the first one last night. I’ll keep you posted on the rest.

No Responses Yet to “19 books”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

