No review, February reading, and random statistics

03Mar10

No review today because, among other things, I’m hip-deep in my own writing. I’ll put something together later this week to make up for it. Instead, I’m subjecting you to What I Read In February! I’ve linked to the reviews I’ve written.

You can find my January list here, at my personal journal.

22. Ice by Sarah Beth Durst
23. Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell
24. Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
25. Bury Me Standing by Isabel Fonseca
26. The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
27. If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
28. Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier
29. Monster by Walter Dean Myers
30. Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon
31. Crashed by Robin Wasserman
31. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
32. Kindred by Octavia Butler
33. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
34. Give Up the Ghost by Megan Crewe
35. Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Genre breakdown:

YA contemporary fantasy/supernatural (5), YA realistic/lit fic (2), YA science fiction (1), YA Fantasy (1), Nonfiction (1), Contemporary/urban fantasy (1), Science fiction (1), Realistic/lit fic (2), Misc (1)

Now, the science fiction title is Kindred, and that classification is borderline. I put it in there mostly because it does have a speculative element and it’s Butler, who I think of as a science fiction writer regardless of what’s actually on the page. The Lovely Bones has a supernatural element but I listed it as lit/realistic because I think that’s how it’s been marketed and viewed. And Fingersmith is historical fiction, which may deserve its own category.

I have to admit I am burned out on YA. I’ve been reading tons of it because a) it’s fun, and b) it’s what I’m writing at the moment, but I’m probably going to take a break from it for a while. I have a few YA books on my TBR pile, but once those are through I’m going to focus on other things. I’m also obviously behind on some of my “reading variety” goals, so I’d like to wrangle my list a bit more in line with that.

Stand-out favorites for this month were The Lovely Bones, in part because I expected to hate it; Fingersmith, which is the book Wilkie Collins would write if he was alive today writing about the Victorian era and also a lesbian; Kindred, because yaknow, Octavia Butler, how can you go wrong; and The Demon’s Lexicon, because it was just so much damn fun.

And now, to work.

No Responses Yet to “No review, February reading, and random statistics”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

